Painting the Woodwork

It’s been a long week without my sewing machine! All those weeks during the school year when I didn’t have time to sew. But one week in the summer and I’m missing it like crazy!

So instead of sewing my hooded towels, I did a project that I’ve been putting off for weeks (okay, months)… painting the woodwork of the main living area. Ugh.

My husband put in new Pergo flooring awhile ago. They’re beautiful–so much better than the dirty carpet (who puts white carpet in a family home?). The problem was that we were hosting a baby shower the same day we were attaching woodwork. So needless to say, I didn’t get to sanding the woodwork and putting a new coat of paint on it. We were just racing around to get the couches back in place before people came over!

Many months later (the baby from that shower is now 5 1/2 months old!)…

I finally got around to sanding and painting the woodwork and cutting in again. Will anybody notice? Nope. Nobody except me. But the rooms do feel really clean! And I swept behind my sectional couch!


This is what our living room looked like for 2 days. Not sure how well you can tell, but the couch is pulled about 2 ft away from the wall. It was a “cozy” TV viewing area!

If you decide to tackle this, there are a few things you should keep in mind:
1.   Clean the floor and wipe down the woodwork. There’s nothing worse than dust and dog hair caught in your new paint job!
2.  Sand any rough spots.
3.  Carry a damp towel with you to wipe up any spills or paint that gets on your walls. I used (a lot of) baby wipes.
4.  Touch up any spots that have chipped when you’re cutting in again. It was pretty amazing how many nicks there were in my walls.
5.  Your knees are really going to hurt. Pull out that kneeling pad for gardening!

I took two days–one to paint the woodwork and one to cut in. Made things much easier to tackle.

Here are my before and after pictures. Do you notice a difference? Didn’t think so 🙂

 Before

 After

(The lighting is totally different in my house–the floors look different colors!)

I just got my sewing machine back today, so I’ll be reentering the sewing world tonight! More coming soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Decorating

Leave a Reply

