Make Your Own Binder Cover

I love binders. There’s something about them that just screams organization. My favorites are the GreenRoom ones from Target. The colors, the prints, the fact that they’re made from recycled materials.

 

But not so much the price. I have a hard time paying $7 for a binder. Especially when I can buy a plain one for about $1. So I made my own cuteness to add to a plain binder. This would also work to cover any notebook.

Some of the pictures are from me making a planner cover. Same process, different size. 🙂

What you’ll need:  to cover a 1″ binder
2′ fabric
2′ lining fabric (I used felt because it’s nice and sturdy)
ribbon (optional)

1.  Open your binder and lay it on your fabric. Add about 4″ on each side for the pocket. Add about 1″ on the top and bottom (if you’re using something thinner than felt for the lining, you can make this part smaller). Cut the fabric and the lining.

2.  With right sides together, pin the two pieces of fabric together. Stitch around the four sides, leaving about a 2″ gap between your starting and stopping point.

3.  Turn right side out. Pin and top stitch around the whole rectangle of fabric.

4.  Fold Side 1 over about 3″ (remember, now that you’ve sewn the side seams, you’ve lost an inch). Pin and sew the top and bottom. Try to follow your top stitch as much as possible.

5.  Once Side 1 is sewn, fold Side 2 over. Make sure you give  yourself a little wiggle room to slide the binder in and out. You’ll need more wiggle room if it’s a hard binder. Sew Side 2.

6.  Optional:  Fold the ends of your ribbon over. Top stitch your ribbons to the front of your binder cover.

You’re binder is all prettied up now! And now you can make all of your binders fancy!

   

14 Comments

Filed under Organizing, Sewing

14 responses to “Make Your Own Binder Cover

  1. I love binders too, and being able to put your own decoration on them is even better. Thanks for this post….guess what I’ll be trying this weekend??!!
    Annie http://www.freshaccessoriesstore.com

  2. Hi Lindsey!

    I’m one of the Editors at AllFreeSewing.com and I just wanted to let you know that I have linked to your project on our site. You can see the project here: http://www.allfreesewing.com/Sew-for-Kids/Make-Your-Own-Binder-Cover/ct/1. I think it’s a great project that our readers will just love to make! This will easily bring traffic to your site and allow others to see what’s new on your site.

    We’re hoping by reaching out we’ll hear from you. With that said, may we have permission to link to any project on your site as well as use the image — with credit to you, of course?

    Thanks!

  3. Thanks so much! What a great site!

  4. Peggy

    I have made these book covers for a long time, Since I had a few friends who requested one for themselves, Since they were made from cotton, I went to thrift shops, an bought a few pillow cases in good condition, each one made 2 book covers. I also purchesed quater squares used for quilting for the smaller books. When finished you would not know it was a pillow case, My friends loved them. Just another way to recycle.
    Peggy

  5. Sandra Shelby

    I have been making these binder covers for years too. I put covers on photo albums and customize them for my children. Now they each have there own photo albums with there pictures inside.

  6. How do you add a wrap-around zipper to this? I figured out how to add a handle/ strap, but the zipper is something I’d like to add.

  7. I haven’t tried to put a zipper around, but I did find two sites that might help. Try Skip to My Lou (http://www.skiptomylou.org/2010/07/29/laptop-sleeve/) and Super Mom–No Cape (http://supermomnocape.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/make-it-monday-zippered-binder-sewing-kit/). Hopefully that will help!

  8. Pingback: Creative Collections: School Projects | a project at a time

  9. Annie

    Very good idea. Plan to make some for my books.
    Annie

  10. Hi! I am crocheting a binder cover and found your page! I was thinking about when your binder is open with the binder cover on, there is a gap/space between the binder and the cover that may seem weird or saggy. Do you find that this is weird, or does it not really matter because people usually have their binders open on a flat surface? Thank you!

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by! I’ve never had a problem with the binder covers being too saggy that they look weird. Usually my binders are open on a flat surface like you said, but I even checked them standing up today and it was fine. Good luck with your project!

  11. Pingback: Happy New Year! | a project at a time

  12. Thank you so much for this tutorial! Tonight I’ll go be the envy of the PTO!! 😀

  13. Pingback: Uke trettifire og skolestart | Syspirasjon

Leave a Reply

