Clear the Clutter: Kitchen Cabinets and Drawers

Back to the kitchen…

This week I decided to focus on the cabinets and drawers that were making me crazy. We do a good job putting most things away, but some of them just weren’t working conveniently. I didn’t do my whole kitchen, but if you choose to, you might want to take more than a week.

Use the same process as always:  empty, clean, purge, sort, contain. Maybe do one drawer or cabinet a day? Don’t try to do too much at a time, because it gets a little overwhelming. Little by little!

My very full tea box. The extra bags were all put together in a big Ziploc so the boxes could be consolidated.

Best idea from Pinterest. It cleared up so much space in my junk drawer!

Much cleaner and less clutter junk drawer now that the other boxes are moved.

I use these tubs for our granola bars, fruit strips, and open crackers. It makes unloading the groceries take longer and fills our recycling quickly, but it takes up SO much less room in the cabinets!

I love our spices! They hang on the backsplash in magnetic containers from Ikea. I just redid the labels today, and it looks so happy.

I didn’t have to do the plastic containers (I did it a few months ago and we’ve done a good job keeping it clean), but there are a few things to keep in mind.
*Make sure all of your lids and containers match.
*It’s a good idea to keep 1 or 2 extras, but check that there’s at least one lid that matches each container.
*Toss the random sizes. I had a round one that I donated to Goodwill because it didn’t stack well and kept falling out.

Happy Cleaning and Sorting!
Enjoy having your kitchen less cluttered and more organized! 

1 Comment

Filed under Organizing

One response to “Clear the Clutter: Kitchen Cabinets and Drawers

  1. Pingback: Clear the Clutter Series | a project at a time

Leave a Reply

