Easiest Drapes Ever Tutorial

These started out as the easiest drapes ever. But I have measuring issues! What started out as something so easy became a challenge to figure out how to add some extra length.

Lesson:  Just because you mess up, doesn’t mean that a little creativity can’t fix the problem!

So this a two part tutorial–one part with the easiest drapes ever and one part to fix your mistake!

Part 1:
I consider this my cheater’s tutorial to make making drapes. It all came about because I hate hemming!

What you’ll need:
*main fabric
*lining (I used fabric that I had been given that I wouldn’t use for a specific project, but bed sheets would work well too. Just make sure the colors are light enough that they don’t show through your main fabric.)
*coordinating thread
*way to hang your drapes (grommets, rings)

1.  Cutting your main fabric:  You want the width of your drapes to be about double the width of your window. For a standard window, you can use a the width of a bolt of fabric. The length should be a few inches longer than your window.

2.  Cut your lining to the same size as your main fabric.

3.  With right sides together, pin the lining and main fabric together. Sew around all four sides, leaving about a 6″ opening on one of your sides.

Okay, these fabrics are from a different project. But I forgot to take a picture of "right sides together" from this project!

4.  Turn your fabric right side out. Top stitch around the whole panel.

5.  On the bottom of each panel, press 1″ and sew in a hem. This weighs down the bottom a little.

6.  Attach your curtains to your rod.
*If you’re using rings, just attach and hang.
*If you want to put a pocket in the top:  Fold the top over to create a pocket large enough to hold the curtain rod. It should be big enough to easily slide your curtains across the rod. Sew.
*I used grommets for the first time. I found a great deal on a set of cranberry grommets–probably because they’re an odd color unless you have a specific project for them! I was a little intimidated at first, but they turned out to be the easiest thing ever. Just use the template to draw the circle, cut, and snap the front/back pieces into place. Tada!

At this point I hung them up and they looked like high waters. Flood was on the way! I didn’t take a picture, mostly because I was so frustrated that I stomped back to my sewing machine to start fixing the problem.

Part 2:
When you make a measurement mistake, there are options to fix it. If you’ve made your curtains too long, just cut them off and re-hem them. Press a 1/2″ and then fold up about 1″ and resew.

It’s a little more challenging to fix things that are too short, but coordinating fabric will take care of this problem! For this situation, I cut a panel out of coordinating fabric the same width as my drapes and long enough to fix my measurement problem. I also cut the lining with the same dimensions.

I repeated Steps 3 and 4 with those two pieces. Then with right sides together, I pinned the addition to the main drapes and sewed. I also added a side panel using the same steps, but that was more a preference than a necessity!

The thing that cracks me up is that the window seat and pillows hide the panel I added to the bottom. But trust me, it was so necessary!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Decorating, Sewing

Leave a Reply

