Moby Wrap Tutorial

I’ve tried a few slings to hold Emily, but some of them feel like she’s going to fall out. Or I can’t get anything done because I’m either holding her in or hitting her with the broom (sweeping is a little tough with one hand!). But the Moby Wrap puts her right on my chest… and out of the way of the broom!

So I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I’m cheap. As in, I can’t pay the $40+ that most stores charge. Not when I could get 5 yards of fabric with a coupon for $15! Which would make two wraps!

What you’ll need:
*5 yards of knit

**I’d suggest using a lightweight knit, because it does get toasty warm with the baby so close. The nice thing is, this is usually the cheapest.

1.  Fold the knit in half hot dog (as in one really long rectangle). Cut along the fold.

The end. You’re done. Now you have 2 Moby wraps.

I know it’s tempting to buy half the amount and sew the two sections together. However, that puts a seam right in the center which is where there’s lots of pulling and the baby’s full weight. So buy the full amount and split it with someone or use the extra to make some cute tops.  Which is what I’ll be doing when I have more time to sew (haha that thought just makes me laugh right now!).

The hardest part of the whole Moby wrap is the actual wrapping part of it!

 Here’s the link to the Moby Wrap website with some great instructions on different ways to wrap.

I also used this You Tube video to see the process.

*I’d suggest practicing with a doll before you try it with your baby. It takes some practice to get those little wiggly darlings in!

**************************

  

3 Comments

Filed under Baby

3 responses to “Moby Wrap Tutorial

  1. Hi! Visiting from Michelles Tasty Creations! I love my moby! I bought mine though … booo!! I agree they do rock though 🙂

    Im going to poke around your site.. if you get a chance I would love for you to share this on my Friday link party tomorrow!

  2. Hi,

    Thanks so much for linking up to Creative Thursday this week. This looks amazing! Wish is was around when my kiddos were little.

    I can’t wait to see what you link up next week. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Michelle

  3. Pingback: Burp Clothes Tutorial | a project at a time

Leave a Reply

