You’d Think I’d Learn…

That when you’re planning a project, only commit to ONE project the week before. Preferably a small one. But not two! Especially not with a new baby!

Let me back up… Tomorrow we’re hosting our first deck party of the summer. Which meant we finally pulled out the deck furniture, power washed the deck, and planted the pots. But I end up using parties as an excuse to get all the things done that I’ve been putting off. Plant the vegetable garden (WEED the vegetable garden, ugh), clean up the yard, weed around the deck, super-clean the house.

Plus, I haven’t quite figured out that with a newborn, I don’t have the time to dedicate to just getting things done. Which means that all the yard and housework would have been more than enough to get done by Saturday.

But then…

I saw a post on Craigslist for white cabinets. Perfect for our laundry room area (Remember this post when I wished for something better for my laundry room?). My sweet husband drove over an hour to pick them up. Then, knowing my excitement about the project, asked if I wanted him to start installing them. And I foolishly said yes.

Here’s what my kitchen looked like for three days…
 So between naps, I would head out to the yard to work in the garden while Logan spent most of the day ripping out shelves, figuring out a good layout, and installing. Exhausting! And it’s not like we could just leave it until after the party, because it’s right beside the back door!

This is what our laundry area looks like now. Totally different from what I originally thought, but I love how clean it looks. And the closed storage! It’s not decorated yet, but it’s certainly presentable enough for the party.

2 Comments

Filed under Decorating, Repurposing

2 responses to “You’d Think I’d Learn…

  1. Mary Jane

    Looks lovely, Lindsey! I love the blues & greens on your deck.

  2. That looks awesome! If we stay in this house for another year, I would really like to get some more organization for the laundry room.

Leave a Reply

