Creative Collections: Book Shelves

Ahh, I miss blogging. And doing projects. But with school having started, longer teacher hours, only 3 hours a day of awake time with Emily, and sheer exhaustion… well, I’m just trying to keep my head above water! Each week is getting easier though, so hopefully I’ll be able to start doing more soon!

In the meantime, I promise to keep up with the Creative Collections series on Wednesdays. I’ve gotten so many great ideas searching for these! This week’s topic comes from one of my dear college friends. She’s on the lookout for cheap and easy ways to create book shelves, so I took up the challenge.

Shelf System from Fruit Carts by BedZine
While I love the look of this, I don’t know how many people actually have fruit carts around. But you can buy unfinished crates at crafts stores and attach them with screws. 

DIY Bookshelves by Just a Girl
I love this idea…which is why I used something similar in Emily’s nursery. The nice this is that you can cut the boards to any size so it’s completely customizable for your space.

Dresser and Ikea Spice Racks from On the Banks of Squaw Creek
This is a genius use of space! And the spice racks could be attached to any existing book shelf, dresser, wall, or media cabinet.

Milk Crate Shelves from Pre-K Pages
Definitely more basic than the wooden boxes/crates. But attaching milk crates with zip-ties is an easy and inexpensive solution. And if you ever need to move, you have all sorts of crates to pack in!

Shelf Touch Up by Becoming Martha
I’ve included this idea, because it’s a great way to personalize the pre-made bookcases you can buy. Just a little bit of scrapbook paper, wallpaper, wrapping paper, or fabric in the back makes it coordinate with your space.

Slight improvement from the cement blocks and boards we used in college!

Leave a comment

Filed under Decorating, Repurposing

Leave a Reply

