Toy Tool Belt Tutorial

My sweet nephew turned 1 last month, and for awhile, I’ve wanted to make him a tool belt. This seemed perfect for a little boy, especially one whose dad is so handy. My brother-in-law has helped with lots of our home improvement projects–the kitchen, ceiling fans, miscellaneous other ones (and my sister-in-law very generously shares him with us!).

What you’ll need:
*stiff piece of fabric for the back (canvas, duck cloth, denim, etc) measuring 11×9″
*coordinating fabric (mine is flannel but anything will work) measuring 11×10″
*bias tape fabric measuring 2×9″ (2 pieces–sides), 2×11″ (1 piece–bottom), 2×36″ (1 piece–top), 2×4″ (1 piece–hammer loop)

Don’t forget to wash and dry your fabric! Especially if you’re using different types. You’re going to want everything to shrink so it doesn’t do weird things to your finished product.

1.  Fold your coordinating fabric in half so it measures 11×5″. Press so you have a sharp fold. Like up the bottom of the coordinating fabric with the bottom of the stiff back fabric. Zig zag to attach the two.

2.  Measure over 3″ from each side and sew a seam from top to bottom. This creates pockets for different tools.

3.  Make your bias tape using this tutorial:  Sew 4 Home. I didn’t cut the fabric on the bias since I wasn’t using a continuous piece around the whole tool belt. Does it still count as bias tape? Oh well, it worked all the same!

4.  Attach your bias tape to the two shorter sides, top (this will be significantly longer so you can tie it around your waist), and bottom. I chose to sew the sides on before attaching the top and bottom, because I thought it was easier. That’s up to you though!

5.  For your hammer loop, fold over your little piece of bias tape. Measure down 2″ and attach.

All ready for your little handy man!

*********************

        

7 Comments

Filed under Sewing

7 responses to “Toy Tool Belt Tutorial

  1. So adorable, thanks for sharing! It would be fun as an art belt, too, maybe for crayons and other art supplies!

  2. Hi, I’m visiting from Chef-in-training and would love for you to share this, or any other posts you would like to, at my Creative Thursday Link Party at http://www.michellestastycreations.blogspot.com. Have a wonderful week.

    Michelle

  3. That is so adorable! I’m sure he has a lot of fun wearing it too.

  4. This is so cute and I love the fabric that you used. I might make one of these for my son. I would love if you would share this and any other posts at Showcase Your Talent Thursday http://whatscookinglove.blogspot.com/2012/06/showcase-your-talent-thursday-10.html. I hope to see you there!

  5. Thanks so much for stopping by Creative Thursday last week to share this adorable project. I couldn’t do these parties without you. Can’t wait to see what you link up this week. Have a great weekend.
    Michelle

  6. Pingback: Happy New Year! | a project at a time

Leave a comment