Burp Cloths Tutorial

Another easy project…

When we were putting together our baby registry, we didn’t register for burp clothes. I’m not sure how this got overlooked, but two weeks before Emily was due, I realized we didn’t have any. Okay, we could have used the inserts to the cloth diapers we have. But that’s not very cute! And when I went to the store to pick some up, it was something like $8 for three small ones.

Umm, hello Miss Cheapness! Time to make them!

After a little searching online, I found several tutorials that suggested using flannel instead of cotton.

So I went a little crazy with children’s flannel prints.

What you’ll need:
*coordinating flannel

1.  Wash and dry all your flannel.
This is an important step, because you don’t want the fabric to shrink and make wonky shapes, especially since these will get washed often.

2.  Cut each piece to 12×14″. You can get 2 pieces (1 whole burp cloth) from a 12″ cut of flannel. I mixed and matched my prints though, so have fun!

3.  With right sides together, sew around all the edges, leaving about a 3″ gap. Turn right side out, press, and topstitch.

The end.

 When I give these as a gift, I just roll them and tie them into a little “bouquet” and tie with a ribbon.

I started this set after Emily was born. Now all the pinning is a little tedious, but this is a really quick project (maybe an hour to do 8 burp clothes). But… these took me 2 weeks to get done. Nothing like squeezing projects in during naps! Oh, and Emily has been sewing with me all wrapped up in the Moby wrap. Is crafting in her future?

*******************

   

3 Comments

Filed under Baby, Sewing

3 responses to “Burp Cloths Tutorial

  1. Love these! What a great baby shower gift or new Mommy gift too. Thanks so much for linking up to Creative Thursday this week.

    I can’t wait to see what you link up next week. Have a great day.

    Michelle

  2. Pingback: Baby Must Haves | a project at a time

Leave a Reply

